SIGGEN logo ACL logo

SIGGEN Board elections - Results

Dear SIGGEN members,

thank you to everyone who voted! The ballot closed at the end of December 20th 2014. 78 members voted, which is 24% of the SIGGEN mailing list. The results were as follows:

Board member with a 4-year term:

* Claire Gardent:
     Borda count: 278, 72 total votes (1st: 30, 2nd: 21, 3rd: 10, 4th: 5, 5th: 4)
* Albert Gatt:
     Borda count: 238, 70 total votes (1st: 18, 2nd: 19, 3rd: 17, 4th: 8, 5th: 5)
* Pablo Duboue:
     Borda count: 171, 56 total votes (1st: 14, 2nd: 11, 3rd: 9, 4th: 9, 5th: 12)
* Frank Schilder:
     Borda count: 158, 56 total votes (1st: 7, 2nd: 13, 3rd: 13, 4th: 14, 5th: 4)
* Pamela W. Jordan:
     Borda count: 157, 62 total votes (1st: 9, 2nd: 10, 3rd: 11, 4th: 11, 5th: 17)

(For the Borda count each 1st place ranking counts for 5 points, each 2nd place ranking for 4 points, and so on.)

Student board member (2-year term):

* Xiao Li: 69 votes

This means that Claire Gardent, Albert Gatt, and Xiao Li will join Barbara Di Eugenio and Verena Rieser on the SIGGEN board. Congratulations and welcome to the board!

Many thanks to all candidates who stood for election!

Have a good start into the new year!

On behalf of the SIGGEN board
Kristina Striegnitz
Computer Science Dept.
Union College
Schenectady, NY, USA

The SIGGEN board
Barbara Di Eugenio, University of Illinois at Chicago
Shashi Narayan, Loria
Verena Rieser, Heriot Watt University
Ielka van der Sluis, University of Groningen
Kristina Striegnitz, Union College